WDFW-818 (Rev. 10/2001)
Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife

Applicationfor Charter License
forthe Year

See Current Fee Sheet for License Type and Fee Amount

|:I Renewal of an Existing License
|:I New License (Non-Salmon Only)
[ Waiver of Salmon Charter. Deadline May 1 Each Year

I will not be fishing for the current year indicated above __Initial

License Information

Number of Anglers

[_] salmon (Salmon & Foodfish) (Salmon Only)

|:I Non-Salmon (Foodfish & Shellfish)

Department Use Only

License Number Card #

License Type Payment Receipt

Resident Non-Resident

WDFW Vessel Registration

Fee Received Amount Due

Designated Vessel Information

Vessel Name State or Document Number Hull Identification Number
Overall Length (ft) Beam (ft) Horsepower Engine Type Net Tonnage Gross Tonnage LORAN D YES |:I NO

[ GAs RADAR 0 Yes [ NO

(] DIESEL FATHOMETER  [] YES g No

License Owner(s) ID# Vessel Owner(s) ID#
Last Name First Name Initial Last Name First Name Initial Birthdate (M/D/Y)
Address Phone Number
Permanent Street Address
Primary License Operator

Mailing Address Last Name First Name Initial Operator ID#
City State Zip Code Birthdate (M/D/Y) Sex Hair Eyes Weight Height

Permanent Phone

Social Security Number (required)

[_] I have been a resident of Washington for the previous 90 days and am not
licensed as aresidentin any other state.

[_] 1am not aresident of Washington State.

| hereby certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the
foregoing is true and correct. Providing false information may invalidate this license.

Signature of License Owner Date

Signed at (Place)

Make fees payable to State Treasurer
License will expire December 31st of Issuance Year

Mail Applications Directly to:
Department of Fish and Wildlife
License Division

600 Capitol Way N

Olympia WA 98501-1091

Office Location:

1111 Washington St. S.E. Olympia WA

Phone Number: (360) 902-2464 *TDD (360) 902-2207
Fax(360) 902-2945

This is a public document. Please be advised that the information submitted may be shared with other government agencies.




For additional information contact a licensing representative at 360-902-2464 (option 4)
RCW 77.65.150
Charter licenses and angler permits — Fees — "Charter boat" defined — Oregon charter boats — Salmon charter license renewal.

(1) The director shall issue the charter licenses and angler permits listed in this section according to the requirements of this title. The
licenses and permits and their annual license fees, application fees, and surcharges are:

Annual Fee
(RCW 77.95.090 Surcharge) Governing
License or Permit (RCW 77.12.702 Surcharge) Application Fee Section
Resident Nonresident
@) Nonsalmon charter  $225 $375 $70
(plus $35 for RCW (plus $35 for RCW
77.12.702 Surcharge) 77.12.702 Surcharge)
(b) Salmon charter $380 (plus $100) $685 (plus $100) $105 RCW 77.70.050
(plus $35 for RCW (plus $35 for RCW
77.12.702 Surcharge) 77.12.702 Surcharge)
(c) Salmon angler $0 $0 $0 RCW 77.70.060
(d) Salmon roe $95 $95 $70 RCW 77.65.350

(2) A salmon charter license designating a vessel is required to operate a charter boat from which persons may, for a fee, fish for
salmon, other food fish, and shellfish. The director may issue a salmon charter license only to a person who meets the qualifications of
RCW 77.70.050.
(3) A nonsalmon charter license designating a vessel is required to operate a charter boat from which persons may, for a fee, fish for
food fish other than salmon, albacore tuna, and shellfish.
(4)(a) "Charter boat" means a vessel from which persons may, for a fee, fish for food fish or shellfish for personal use in those state
waters set forth in (b) of this subsection. "Charter boat" also means a vessel from which persons may, for a fee, fish for food fish or
shellfish for personal use in offshore waters or in the waters of other states. The director may specify by rule when a vessel is a "charter
boat" within this definition.
(b) A person may not operate a vessel from which persons may, for a fee, fish for food fish or shellfish in Puget Sound, Grays Harbor,
Willapa Bay, Pacific Ocean waters, Lake Washington, or the Columbia river below the bridge at Longview unless the vessel is
designated on a charter boat license.
(5) A charter boat licensed in Oregon may fish without a Washington charter license under the same rules as Washington charter boat
operators in ocean waters within the jurisdiction of Washington state from the southern border of the state of Washington to Leadbetter
Point, as long as the Oregon vessel does not take on or discharge passengers for any purpose from any Washington port, the
Washington shore, or a dock, landing, or other point in Washington. The provisions of this subsection shall be in effect as long as the
state of Oregon has reciprocal laws and regulations.
(6) A salmon charter license under subsection (1)(b) of this section may be renewed if the license holder notifies the department by May
1st of that year that he or she will not participate in the fishery during that calendar year. The license holder must pay the one hundred
dollar enhancement surcharge, a thirty-five dollar surcharge to be deposited in the rockfish research account created in RCW
77.12.702, plus a one hundred five dollar application fee, in order to be considered a valid renewal and eligible to renew the license the
following year.

Notification Clause
This program receives Federal assistance from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504
of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title Il of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, and Title IX
of the Education Amendments of 1972, the U.S. Department of the Interior and its bureaus prohibit discrimination on the bases of race,
color, national origin, age, disability and sex (in educational programs). If you believe that you have been discriminated against in any
program, activity or facility, please write to:

WDFW, ADA Coordinator
600 Capitol Way North
Olympia WA 98501
or to:
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Civil Rights Coordinator for Public Access
4401 N. Fairfax Drive, Mail Stop: WSFR-4020
Arlington, VA 22203.

Personal information provided to the Wa Dept. of Fish and Wildlife may be disclosed via a Public Records Request
All the information you provide in this application becomes a public record that may be subject to inspection and copying by members of

the public, unless an exemption in the law exists. The Department’s Policy regarding Privacy Protection and Public Disclosure
Requests is available upon request.



Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife

OFFICE LOCATION COUNTER HOURS MAILING ADDRESS

1111 Washington St. SE Monday-Friday 600 Capital Way N.
Olympia, WA (excluding legal holidays) Olympia, WA 98501-1091

(360) 902-2464 8:00 am - 5:00 pm FAX (360) 902-2945

LICENSE APPLICATIONS
Application for commercial fishery/specialized licenses must be completed in full including the
type of license being applied for. Signatures of license owners are required. Incomplete appli-
cations will not be processed until all license criteria/qualifications are met. Applications sub-
mitted in the name of a corporation must provide a copy of those portions of the corporation
papers that show the state seal, the corporation name, and a list of the current corporate
officers. Only those individuals listed as corporate officers will have authority to sign for li-
cense renewals, or be designatd as primary operator.

REGULATIONS AND SEASONS
It is your responsibility as a member of the fishing/wildlife industry to know what regulations
are applicable to that segment of the industry in which you are engaged. For information on
regulations or seasons contact the Enforcement Division at (360) 902-2936.

SPECIALIZED LICENSE CARDS
Specialized license cards must be in your possession while engaging in the activity for which
the license is issued.

FISHERY LICENSE CARDS
Fishery license cards must be carried on the designated vessel while fishing. All commercial/
charter fishing vessels must have a designated operator present. A license for an alternate
operator may be obtained upon receipt of application and fee. Only those operators desig-
nated on the commercial fishery license card may sell catch to a licensed wholesale dealer.
Commercial fishery license cards must be presented to the wholesale dealer or fish buyer
when you sell your product. All operators, including the primary operator, are required to
possess an operator license. Alternate operators must complete an alternate operator applica-
tion and return it along with the appropriate fee to the Department for processing Primary
operators will be issued a complimentary operator license when the fishery license is issued.
Only the license owner may be designated as the primary operator. A primary operator card
does not allow that person to be designated as an alternate operator on a license which they
do not own, that person is required to purchase an alternate operator license.



Vessel Designation Decals
If a vessel is designated on more than one fishery license, only one set of designated decals
will be issued the vessel. Decals should be mounted on a CLEAN surface directly on each
forward side of the vessel.

Sale of Product
In order to sell your catch to any person other than a licensed wholesale dealer/fisher buyer,
you must be licensed as a wholesale dealer yourself and complete the proper fish receiving
ticket before offering your catch for sale.

Requirement of 10 Inch Numbers
According to Washington Administrative Code 220-20-051, every vessel designated to
participate in a commercial fishery or to deliver food fish and shellfish must have the official
Coast Guard documentation number or complete state registration number permanently
displayed in ten inch (10”) tall numbers, or letters and numbers, of proportionate width, clearly
visible from each side of the vessel. It is unlawful to participate in a commercial fishery or
deliver food fish or shellfish without having such numbers displayed.

Examples: Coast Guard Document Number 123 321
State Registration Numbers WN 000 XX

NOTE: This requirement does not apply to salmon guides, salmon charter, fishing guide
(game fish), or non-transferable emergency salmon delivery licenses.

Evidence of Vessel Ownership
Each commercially licensed fishing vessel must have a copy of its state vessel registration or
Coast Guard documentation papers showing that the vessel is used for commercial fishing on
file with this office. No initial license issuance or vessel designation change will be processed
without current documentation. Please check the expiration date on the papers of the vessel
designated on the license. The state registration or Coast Guard documentation papers’
expiration date must be beyond the date you are applying for the change.

License Ownership Transfers
Commercial fishing licenses are non-transferrable unless specified by Washington Law.
Moratorium licenses vary in transfer rights. Call the License Division at (360) 902-2464 for
assistance and transfer application.

Limited Entry Fishery Licenses
The following licenses have qualifying criteria in accordance with moratoria legislation: salmon
fishery, salmon charter, sea urchin dive, sea cucumber dive, Dungeness Crab - Puget Sound,
Puget Sound whiting, herring, ocean pink shrimp, Dungeness Crab - Coastal, Puget Sound
Shrimp Pot and Puget Sound Shrimp Trawl. Contact our license specialists for further
information.



